About the Duke Flyers Association

The first talk of an association started with Ellett Lawrence, P-538 when we (Jim and Marge Gorman) were at Duke School in Wichita, KS prior to taking delivery of N410G P-596 on April 10, 1983.
We procrastinated until we met Bill Passey at Mesa, AZ airport. Like a lot of us he noticed our landing and came over to see another Duke. Over dinner that evening we thought it might be worth a try to form some sort of a loose organization with the purpose of helping each other fly and maintain this great airplane.
Upon returning home an owners list was secured from AOPA and a first mailing went out in June 1988. 80 people replied in the affirmative and with dues of $25.00 we were on our way. By the time of our first fly-in at Mansfield, OH we had 165 members and $3,400 in the bank. 22 Dukes arrived for that first fly-in.
Ellett Lawrence our first President designed our letterhead and membership cards (both still in use). Bill Passey, Vice President; Marge Gorman, Secretary and Treasurer; Jim Gorman, Newsletter were also elected. Interesting enough both Ellett and Bill later bought King Airs. We have issued over 1000 memberships and average over 300 members on a yearly basis. Of the first 100 members, 20 are still members 23 years later.

About the Beechcraft Duke

The first Beechcraft Duke was delivered in August of 1968. The Duke (BE60) quickly proved to be a superior performer with 2 380 hp Lycomming TIO-541 Direct Drive engines, a six place cabin pressurized for high altitude comfort. The A and B model were subsequently produced with minor improvements. The last Duke was produced in 1982 after a run of 596 airplanes. There are some 411 still flying. The Duke is fast, comfortable, quiet, and extremely stable. The Duke performs as well or better than any other aircraft in its class.

The Annual Fly-Ins

Each year the Duke Flyers have held an annual fly-in with the help of our member-sponsors. The fly-ins offer members the oppotunity to socialize, learn, and build closer ties with other Duke flyers.

List of Annual Fly-Ins
1989Mansfield, OHGormans
1990Mesa, AZBill Passy
1991Centennial, COKooi's and Bacons
1992Corpus Christie, TXBruce James
1993Mesa, AZBill Passy
1994San Jose, CAGreg Jellinek
1995St. Louis, MOLarry Moskoff
1996Centennial, CORon Knudson, Kooi's and Bacons
1997Tullahoma, INGormans
1998Kansas City, MOGerry Fischer, Jim Foreman
1999Colorado Springs, COUhalts
2000Rockford, ILLarry O'Connor
2001(Cancelled due to 9/11)
2002Sault Ste Marie, MIRon Comeault
2003San Diego, CABill Black, Shakre Razook, Bill Passy
2004Lexington, KYKevin Scully, Roger Storch
2005Wichita, KSBeech Airport, Olsons, Gormans
2006Centennial, CORon Knudson, Kooi's
2007Chino, CACopenbargers and Uhalts
2008Dayton, OHOlsons and Gormans
2009Lake Tahoe, CAGreg Jellinek
2010Waukesha, WIDane Scag
2011Santa Fe, NMDebbie and Al Uhalt
2012Brunswick, MaineAb Fuoss
2013Duluth, MNMatth Opack, Kent and Jim Rhude
2014Tullahoma TN (Planned)